McInnes Group

6 March 2017

Inverness plumbing, heating and renewable energy firm in the running for Business of the Year award

An award winning Highland heating, plumbing and renewable energy solutions firm, which is headquartered in Inverness, has made the shortlist of the Scottish SME Business Awards 2017.

The McInnes Group is one of five companies shortlisted in the Business of the Year (under 30 staff) for the North region.

The awards are voted for by the general public who nominate their favourite businesses and entrepreneurs for the inaugural awards.

The McInnes Group, which was founded by MD Lachlan McInnes in 2011, is an award winning heating, plumbing and renewable energy solutions firm, which incorporates both McInnes Plumbing and Heating and McInnes Renewables.

Lachlan, 30, was recently named winner of the Rising Star category at the Green Energy Awards. He carved out his business empire after been made redundant from his apprenticeship in 2011. He paid to complete his own apprenticeship and founded McInnes Plumbing and Heating Ltd. Lachlan’s dad bought the determined entrepreneur his first van and he slowly managed to develop a good client base across the Highlands, mainly through word of mouth.

In 2013 Lachlan then identified a gap in the market to supply innovative renewable energy to customers across Scotland, and McInnes Renewables Ltd was born.

Lachlan now employs a total of 11 staff and four apprentices, and the business has experienced huge growth in last 12 months, with turnover now exceeding a seven-figure sum.

Lachlan McInnes said: “We would like to thank all our customers and supporters who nominated us for this award.

“It is great to make the shortlist for the Scottish SME Business Awards and it is even more special that it is members of the public who have voted for us.

“We always strive to provide the best possible service for our customers and we are delighted to be recognised for that.”

The awards ceremony will take place on the 13 March in the Crown Plaza Hotel in Glasgow where all the winners will be announced.